Being charged with Driving While Intoxicated can have a serious impact on both your personal and professional life, and can have a variety of consequences that will cause major issues to you and your family. At Cole Paschall Law, it is our hope that we can work with you to mitigate these issues and minimize the impacts that your charges will ultimately have while building a strong and creative defense for your DWI charges. A first or second-offense DWI has strict punishments associated with it, but in the event that you are charged with a third DWI, you can be certain that the penalties will be even more severe. In this instance, we will have to work aggressively towards the least impactful outcome possible for your case and will need to explore a variety of approaches to achieve this goal.
Read more about third offense DWI charges and penalties in Texas, and contact us as soon as possible to schedule a free initial consultation. This consultation is an excellent opportunity to learn more about our law firm, our approach, and how we can help you through this situation based on our past experience and the successes that our other clients have enjoyed under our representation. You will also be able to speak with a legal professional about the specifics of your own arrest and charges and learn about how we have handled similar cases in the past.
The process of defending a DWI in the Texas courts is complicated, and even if you are found not guilty, there are still repercussions that you may need to deal with from the Texas DMV that include a variety of administrative penalties. We will be able to work with you to ensure that every legal consequence for these charges is handled appropriately and fairly.
Possible Penalties for a Third Offense DWI in Texas
As you can imagine, the penalties for a third DWI increase significantly from a first or second offense. Below are some of the recommended penalties for these charges without any additional enhancements:
- A $10,000 maximum fine
- 2 to 10 years of imprisonment
- You may also lose your license for up to two years
- A third offense is a felony
- You will be required to install an ignition interlock device after getting your license back
Whereas a first and second offense DWI is charged as a misdemeanor, the third is a felony, which has a greater impact on your criminal record and may disqualify you from many different things like running for public office or seeking other employment opportunities.
In addition to the aforementioned penalties for a third offense, there are many different situations that will increase these punishments drastically. If you are arrested in possession of other controlled substances, your BAC is in excess of .15, or you have a minor under the age of 15 in the car at the time of your arrest, these will automatically enhance your charges. In addition, you will need to face the penalties for the separate charges in addition to the DWI.
Schedule a Free Case Evaluation With an Experienced Fort Worth Third Time DWI Lawyer
Every DWI arrest is unique, and our approach to each case must be creative and unique as well. We will work with you to identify all possible options that we have in order to work towards the top possible outcome for your situation and pursue it aggressively. The most important thing that you can do now is to contact a DWI attorney in Fort Worth immediately and begin working on your case.
The stress of uncertainty about how your case will be handled, who will represent you, and how they will represent you is unnecessary and excessive as you are trying to get the rest of your life under control after this incident. Once you are represented by the team at Cole Paschall Law, you can proceed with confidence that your top interests are being considered by an experienced attorney with a history of success.