Schedule a Free Consultation | We Are Available 24/7 | Hablamos Español

DWI First Offense #2

A DWI is a serious issue no matter if it is your first arrest or if you are a repeat offender. The penalties that come along with a DWI charge (Driving While Intoxicated) can cause major problems for the offender that go beyond fines, license suspension, and possible jail time. Even if you are not found not guilty of the DWI, meaning you are not found to have violated any Texas laws, you may still face penalties through the Texas DMV including license suspension and a variety of fines. Being found guilty means that there are more penalties to come.

However, if you have been charged with your first DWI and work with an experienced DWI attorney in Fort Worth, you will be able to move forward with the confidence that you have an experienced professional representing your case, and helping you navigate this complicated process towards the top possible outcome for your situation. There are many different ways that a good lawyer can reduce your punishments and secure your future in a way that minimizes the long-term problems that these charges can cause for you.

Read more below about the penalties of a first offense DWI in Texas, and contact us now to schedule a free initial consultation for your case. The team at Cole Paschall Law has a strong history of results for our clients, and we will be happy to work with you towards the top possible outcome for your DWI charges. During your free consultation, you will be able to get a better understanding of how our firm can help you with your specific charges, and learn more about our process.

What Is a DWI?

A DWI is a charge in Texas for Driving While Intoxicated, and may be applied for alcohol or other drugs depending on the circumstances of the arrest. The legal Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) limit in Texas is 0.08%, but a driver can be charged without failing a breathalyzer test if they are suspected of being on other drugs and illustrate an inability to control their normal physical or mental functions.

This means that a person who is operating a motor vehicle under the influence of a drug like Xanax or marijuana without any alcohol will pass a breath alcohol test, but could be driving while intoxicated and will be charged as such. Texas police officers have a variety of methods to confirm a driver’s ability to operate safely that go beyond blood or breath tests.

What Are the Possible Penalties For a First Offense DWI?

A first offense DWI charge in Texas, without any enhancing charges, generally comes with the possibility of the following penalties:

  • 3 days to 180 days in jail
  • Fines of up to $2,000
  • Probation for two years
  • License suspension for up to a year
  • Ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle

There are many other factors that can enhance the charges, such as operating while intoxicated with a minor under the age of 15 in the vehicle, having an open container of alcohol in the car, being excessively over the legal BAC, or being in possession, or under excessive influence of, controlled substances.

Regardless of the specifics of your arrest, we will take a custom approach to your case in order to achieve the top possible outcome for the situation. There are many different ways that a DWI first offense can be minimized on your record, the penalties can be reduced, and you may be able to go forward with your life with as little impact as possible. These situations can be devastating if they are not handled properly, and it is essential to us that we give you the top tools to handle this part of your life.

Contact Us Now

Before you continue to stress out about the uncertain future that a first offense DWI creates, contact our team today. When you are working with a DWI lawyer from the Fort Worth office of Cole Paschall Law, you can be confident that our experience with these situations will move you in the right direction.

Related Articles

Additional Crimes That We Represent


About Us

Attorneys Casey Cole and Shawn Paschall make an impactful difference on all of the criminal cases they handle. With more than 50 combined years of legal experience, our criminal defense attorneys in Fort Worth have a proven track record for great results at a great price. Residents throughout Fort Worth and Tarrant County have turned to Cole Paschall Law in times of trouble.

Contact Our Firm

Schedule a free consultation today. Our firm is available 24/7 to advise you on the matters you are dealing with.

Board Certified Badge

Shawn W. Paschall is board certified in criminal law as designated by the Board of Legal Specialization.