DWI Education Program Course #2
If you are charged with a DWI in Fort Worth, you could be faced with several consequences. One of those consequences is the DWI education program course.
There are several different types of DWI courses. If you receive a DWI, you need to take the court-mandated program. The type of program you take depends on two factors — your age and your number of prior offenses. One of the courses is targeted at juvenile offenders, while another is for adults. However, all courses are regulated by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR).
If you have questions about the education program, you can contact Cole Paschall Law to learn more. You can also read on to learn more about what to expect.
Table of Contents
About the Courses
The basic DWI course lasts for 12 hours. Typically, the course takes place over several days. You shouldn’t hesitate to schedule your course because there is a time limit. If you don’t complete the course within 180 days of your probation, you will face penalties. The court could suspend your license and revoke your probation.
You must pay for the course, and the fee varies depending on the provider. Most providers charges between $90 and $125. In some cases, you may be able to pay for some of the course up-front and pay the remainder upon completion of the program.
If you don’t speak English, you can find any of the courses available in Spanish. Because different providers offer the courses, you might be able to find one that meets your scheduling needs.
First-Time Offender Course
If you don’t have any prior DWI offenses, you will take a course for first-time offenders. This program has the goal of making you more knowledgeable about the effects of driving under the influence.
Additionally, the course will teach you how to track your drinking patterns. You may learn how to prevent drinking and driving incidents in the future. The course teaches people to know the signs of alcohol dependency and may shed some light on your own personal problems.
Multiple Offender Course
Individuals with multiple DWI offenses need to take a program tailored to them. Because of the history of alcohol abuse, the people who take this course are taught how to stop living a lifestyle of alcohol abuse.
During the course, you will learn how to decide whether or not you need treatment for substance abuse. You also learn how to prevent future issues with alcohol or other substance abuse. Specifically, the course teaches:
- How 12-step programs can help
- Options for treatment
- Avoiding peer pressure
- DWI prevention
- Effect of alcohol abuse on family
- Preventing relapses
This program is longer than the first-time offender course. Usually, it takes place over a period of seven weeks and lasts for a total of 32 hours. For this reason, it’s also more expensive than the first-time offender course. On average, it costs about $300.
Course for Minors
If you are under the age of 21 and caught drinking and driving, you need to take a special program. While you take this program, you will learn how to be more aware of the effects of alcohol on your behavior.
You learn about the penalties that come with underage drinking. Additionally, you will learn about the severity of drunk driving accidents and how to recognize substance addiction. This course is only about six hours long. Typically, it is split into two days of material.
Getting the Help You Need
Tarrant County is ranked fourth for DUI crashes in Texas. Fortunately, the DWI education program aims to remedy drinking and driving.
While the program could help you with your drinking problem, it can’t help you with your legal troubles. Contact Cole Paschall Law and learn how we can make a difference.