Occupational Drivers Licenses in Texas
There are many pitfalls that accompany DWI convictions in the State of Texas. Having your license suspended is one of the more difficult consequences. This can negatively affect your finances, career, as well as the ability to effectively handle necessary household duties. Fortunately, if you are a first time offender, you may have the opportunity to obtain an occupational driver’s license in Texas. In some cases, this has been called an essential need license as well. This type of license can be issued when your license has been suspended for DWI or other offenses.
If you obtain an occupational drivers license in Texas, it will allow you to drive to work, to educational activities or to perform household duties that are essential. It will allow you to drive for up to 12 hours per day, up to six days per week. Although it must be noted that you will not be eligible to drive a commercial vehicle. Petitioning the courts to obtain an occupational drivers license in Texas can be a complex process that involves a lot of paperwork and knowledge. If you are unsure of how to apply for one or do not have the time/expertise to go through the process yourself, it is recommended that you connect with a Fort Worth DWI Lawyer at your earliest convenience.
Give the attorneys at Cole Paschall Law a call to schedule your initial consultation today.
How To Obtain Occupational Licenses in Texas?
Whether you are interested in applying for an occupational license in Texas yourself or are just curious about the process, there are a few things that you must accomplish before you will be given the privilege to drive again. Albeit on a limited basis. Listed below are the steps that you must take in order to obtain an occupational drivers license in Texas.
- Petition the Courts: The courts do not have to approve of your petition. You must show that it is vital for you to obtain limited driving privileges. This is where the expertise of a seasoned Fort Worth DWI lawyer comes into play. If you are involved in a drug court program, a petition may not be needed.
- Wait for approval
- Obtain SR-22 insurance: You will have to supply the Department of Public Safety with a financial responsibility insurance certificate before they will issue an occupational license in Texas.
- Pay Fees: You must pay all fees associated with your conviction, occupational license and reinstatement fees.
It is important to note that the court order approving of your petition for an occupational license can serve as your de facto license for 45 days. This gives you enough time to take care of all other requirements.
How Much Will I Have To Pay For an Occupational License?
For the occupational license alone, you will just have to pay $10 for the year. However, you will also have to pay your reinstatement fees which will include all fees that were charged to you for the offense that you were convicted of. Furthermore, you will have to obtain SR-22 insurance. This is typically the most expensive form of insurance. Lastly, in many cases, the courts will require you to have an ignition interlock device installed in your car before you are able to drive it. You will be responsible for all costs associated with the installation.
Working With an Experienced Fort Worth DWI Lawyer
As you can see, obtaining occupational driver’s licenses in Texas can be rather complex. When making a petition to the courts, it is important that you show a true need to have an occupational driver’s license. Also, making mistakes on any part of your application can have your occupational license request denied or rescinded. In order to buffer yourself against these potential pitfalls, it is recommended that you connect with a Fort Worth DWI lawyer that has experience in these matters. At Cole Paschall Law, we have almost 30 years of experience helping clients that have been convicted of a DWI offense to obtain occupational drivers licenses in Texas.
Give us a call to schedule your initial consultation today.